Broward Tutor

Summer Family Fun by The Broward Tutor

Got the summer doldrums? Need a pick me up? Sick of making forts and doing jigsaw puzzles?
Get everyone out of the house for a while!

Here are some great summer family fun suggestions both close to home and fun to do. You can document your escapades by keeping a journal that includes photos and observations from your family members. Your kids will enjoy the memories as they grow up and look back at it!

The beach is my #1 favorite activity in the summer. It’s so quiet and relaxing. You can even bring a field guide. Creating a replica of a local mammal, bird, reptile, or amphibian in the sand can be a terrific family experience! My second favorite is the library. There are so many summer reading events and activities for all ages, including:  arts & crafts, chess tournaments, cooking classes, magic shows, movies, jewelry making, game days, and book clubs. Check your local library for a schedule at   www.broward.org/library.
Click on the other links below to decide which activities your family would enjoy.

FORT LAUDERDALE AREA
Ann Kolb Nature Center  (hands-on nature experiences, canoeing & kayaking, displays of mangrove ecosystems)
http://www.broward.org/Parks/WestLakePark/Pages/AnneKolbNatureCenter.aspx
Museum of Discovery and Science/ IMAX Theater   www.mods.org/
Old Davie School Museum   www.olddavieschool.org
Flamingo Gardens   flamingogardens.org/
Museum of Art Ft. Lauderdale   www.moafl.org/
Young at Art Museum   youngatartmuseum.org/
Native Village   nativevillage.com/
Rapids Water Park   rapidswaterpark.com/
Butterfly World  butterflyworld.com/
Lion Country Safari  www.lioncountrysafari.com/
Local Parks: Many have water parks, canoes, paddleboats, bike and hiking trails, picnic spots, playgrounds, and sporting fields
(my personal favorites are TY Park in Hollywood and CB Smith Park in Pembroke Pines)     www.broward.org/parks
Everglades Holiday Park for Airboat Rides  http://www.evergladesholidaypark.com/
Guided Fishing Trip through the Everglades (tell Captain Neal, my wonderful neighbor, that Randi Gelfond sent you) www.americanevergladesguide.com/

MIAMI AREA
Miami Museum of Science and Planetarium     www.miamisci.org/
Miami Metrozoo    www.miamimetrozoo.com/
Miami Seaquarium   www.miamiseaquarium.com/
Fairchild Tropical Botanical Garden   www.fairchildgarden.org/
Jungle Island   www.jungleisland.com/
Venetian Pool in Coral Gables   This is a large swimming pool with waterfalls, underwater caves, and a beach. VERY UNIQUE! The springs were created from a coral rock quarry.
Phone:  305-460-5306

ENJOY THE REST OF THE SUMMER!
Randi Gelfond, a.k.a.
The Broward Tutor

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

RSS Feed

RSS Feed

Enter your email address to subscribe to the Broward Tutor blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Classes Offered
Broward tutor sessions One-on-one and small group tutoring sessions in all content areas of curriculum, aligned with current Common Core State Standards.
• Remediation
• Gifted/Enrichment
• ESOL
• Test Prep/Study Skills

Broward tutor sessions
Contact Randi
Randi Gelfond
954-850-0964
Email me!